Why you should get an artificial instead of a real christmas tree.

Posted: 4. December 2011 in random thoughts
Tags: , , ,

Today we started unwrapping our (artificial) christmas tree from last year, and while decorating it, we were discussing whether or not we should buy a real christmas tree next year round.

I actually didn’t have to think twice about it, the answer is NO.
(Unless we buy a ‘living’ real christmas tree.)

Why do I chose an artificial over a real christmas tree?

  1. I don’t ‘kill’ a tree that has been growing for about 7 years, just to hang stuff on it for a couple of days and then throw it away
  2. I need to buy it only once and can use it every year again
  3. I don’t have the needle-mess on the floor that I have to clean every day
  4. It doesn’t catch fire as easily (I’m not using real candles anyway)
Did you know that, according to the National Christmas Tree Association,  approximately 25-30 million real christmas trees sold yearly in the U.S.! And it takes each tree 7 years on average to grow to the typical size of 6-7 feet.  Hypothetically speaking, that means we throw away about 200 Million years of natural growth alone in the U.S. every year!
No, I am not a member of Greenpeace, but I still think it is not necessary anymore to buy a real christmas tree, unless you buy a living one that you can plant into your garden (or somewhere else) after the christmas season.
Nowadays everybody shouts out stuff like ‘Save the Rainforest!’, ‘Think green, don’t print this email!’, and whatever else,… but I never heard somebody saying ‘Save the christmas trees!’
Also, did you ever think about the little, ‘ugly’-looking christmas trees that nobody wants to buy, and yet they are still for sale? Plants have feelings too! They get cut off, placed in the corner, nobody wants them, and end up thrown away without having the questionable pleasure of getting decorated and admired.
So let the real trees live their lives and get an artificial one! They have developed a lot and look much better than years ago!

If I have convinced just one of the readers to buy an artificial instead of a real christmas tree this year, then this blog post was already worth it.

PS: If you miss the smell of the real christmas tree, you can still buy this.

Comments
  1. Yes, i love this website as well! This inspired me to open my own. Hopefully will bring users to visit my site

  2. This actually answered my downside, thank you!

  3. best juicer says:

    Hello! I just would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the good info you may have right here on this post. I will likely be coming back to your weblog for extra soon.

Leave a comment

